It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the United States, the United Kingdom, and Western Europe there has been exponential growth in the number of small independent breweries over the past thirty years - a reversal of the corporate consolidation and narrowing of consumer choice that characterized much of the twentieth century. While there are legal and policy components involved in this shift, the contributors to Untapped ask broader questions. How does the growth of craft beer connect to trends like the farm-to-table movement, gentrification, the rise of the "creative class," and changing attitudes toward both cities and farms? How do craft beers conjure history, place, and authenticity? At perhaps the most fundamental level, how does the rise of craft beer call into being new communities that may challenge or reinscribe hierarchies based on gender, class, and race?
The only encyclopedia of its kind, Encyclopedia of Brewing provides a comprehensive description of terms which relate to the science and technology of beer, allied beverages, and the brewing and malting processes. The extensive and authoritative coverage provides an appropriately detailed description of each term under consideration, supplemented with diagrams and photographs where relevant. This essential first point of reference for information on brewing science offers commercial brewers and allied traders worldwide, as well as the burgeoning North American craft brewing sector, with an international perspective.
The microbiology of brewing is a diverse subject covering both the production of beer and its stability to spoilage. The third edition of this extremely successful book gives an in-depth coverage of all aspects of brewing microbiology.
From prehistory to our own time, beer has evoked awe and fascination; it seems to have a life of its own. Whether you're a home brewer, a professional brewer, or just someone who enjoys a beer, The Chemistry of Beer will take you on a fascinating journey, explaining the underlying science and chemistry at every stage of the beer making process. All the science is explained in clear, non-technical language, so you don't need to be a PhD scientist to read this book and develop a greater appreciation for the world's most popular alcoholic drink. The Chemistry of Beer begins with an introduction to the history of beer and beer making.
This book expertly explains the nature of hops, their origins, and how brewers maximise their positive attributes throughout the brewing process. Stan Hieronymus starts with the basics of hop chemistry, then examines the important role farmers play and how brewers can best choose the hops they need. He provides fundamental information about and descriptions of over 100 hop varieties, along with 16 recipes from around the world, including from top U.S. craft brewers. Hieronymus explores hop quality and utilisation, with an entire chapter devoted to dry hopping. Throughout, Hieronymus' research and accessible writing style educate the reader on the rich history of hops and their development into an essential ingredient in beer.
Ontario boasts a potent mix of brewing traditions. Wherever Europeans explored, battled, and settled, beer was not far behind, which brought the simple magic of brewing to Ontario in the 1670s. Early Hudson's Bay Company traders brewed in Canada's Arctic, and Loyalist refugees brought the craft north in the 1780s. Early 1900s temperance activists drove the industry largely underground but couldn't dry up the quest to quench Ontarians' thirst. The heavy regulation that replaced prohibition centralized surviving breweries. Today, independent breweries are booming and writing their own chapters in the Ontario beer story.nbsp;
Forget wine tours! This is the comprehensive guide to Ontario's craft-beer revival and the brewers behind it. The renaissance of craft beer that has swept North America over the past thirty years has transformed the Ontario landscape, leaving over two hundred breweries, both great and humble, dotting the province.
Highlights of comprehensive information never presented in one volume include: mead, honey and hive products; heather ale; psychotropic beers; and beers and ales from sacred and medicinal trees and plants.
Most people don't expect wood to flavor their food beyond the barbecue, if at all, and gastronomists rarely discuss the significance that wood has on ultimate taste. But trees and wood have a far greater influence over our plate and palate than you might think. So what does wood taste of? And how has it been used in cooking, distilling, fermenting, and even perfume creation to produce a unique flavor and smell? To find out the answers to these questions, food communications expert Artur Cisar-Erlach embarked on a global journey to understand how trees infuse the world's most delectable dishes with the flavor of their wood. His flavor hunt extended into a three-year exploration covering everything from pizza, whisky, cheese, tea, and perfume to quinine, wine, maple syrup, blue yogurt, and more. From wooden barrels used to age scotch in Austria to wood-burning pizza ovens of Naples to traditional Canadian maple syrup producers, The Flavor of Wood explores how wood infuses some of our best-loved foods through its smoke, sap, roots, and bark.
Beer is a beverage with more than 8000 years of history, and the process of brewing has not changed much over the centuries. However, important technical advances have allowed us to produce beer in a more sophisticated and efficient way. The proliferation of specialty hop varieties has been behind the popularity of craft beers seen in the past few years around the world. Craft brewers interpret historic beer with unique styles. Craft beers are undergoing an unprecedented period of growth, and more than 150 beer styles are currently recognized. This Special Issue, Brewing and Craft Beer, comprises nine different works by researchers from five continents (North America, South America, Europe, Africa, and Oceania). This Special Issue reflects thus a broad perspective on the most important questions that concern the researchers in different parts of the world.
Many alcoholic beverages produced using various methods are consumed throughout the world. Alcoholic beverages made by brewing cereals, such as beer and Japanese sake, are extremely popular. Brewing them requires a complicated process by which the cereal must be saccharified using enzymes such as amylase. For example, with beer brewing, malt enzymes are used for saccharification. By germination, malt is made from barley to produce enzymes. Finally, wort is made by processing at higher temperatures using malt. The actual techniques require high-level skills. In this book, the discussion encompasses leading-edge brewing technology with fermentation using a non-Saccharomyces starter, healthy uses of spent grain from brewing processes, and an electronic nose for quality control, but it also includes descriptions of local traditional alcoholic beverages of Korea and Cameroon.
A complete guide on brewing, containing plain, accurate and thorough instructions in the art of brewing ale, beer, and porter, and including information on making Bavarian beer and the small beers, such as sarsaparilla-beer, mead, spruce-beer, and much more. Classic work originally published in 1852.