Libraries Learning Commons: Fitness and Health Promotion Sources: Journals + Databases

Open Access Journals

Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention in Canada: Research, Policy and Practice
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 1995 - present

Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention in Canada: Research, Policy and Practice is a publication of the Public Health Agency of Canada.
Preventive Medicine Reports
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2014 - present

Preventive Medicine Reports publishes papers that have a subspecialty angle, are population or region-specific, describe study protocols, report preliminary or pilot data, qualitative studies, or focus on surrogate health outcomes.
Occupational Therapy International
Call Number: Online

Publication Date: 2020

Occupational Therapy International publishes research reflecting the practice of occupational therapy throughout the world.
JSTOR Open Access
Call Number: Online

Find open articles through JSTOR for topics in fitness, exercise and health promotion.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature. Terms of Use
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more. Terms of Use
Alt-HealthWatch
This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990. Terms of Use
Science Database
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s. Terms of Use