It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Bee Book by Emma Tennant (Contribution by); Dorling Kindersley Publishing StaffThe Bee Book shows you step-by-step how to create a bee-friendly garden, get started in beekeeping, and harness the power of honey for well-being. Fully illustrated with full-color photographs throughout, this beautiful guide covers everything you need to know to start your own backyard hive, from setup to harvest. Practical beekeeping techniques are explained with clear step-by-step sequences, photos, and diagrams so you'll be prepared to establish your own colony, deal with diseases, collect a swarm, and much more. A comprehensive gardening chapter features planting plans to fill container and border gardens, bee "hotel" and habitat projects, and an at-a-glance flower gallery of bees' favorite plants. The Bee Book also shows you how to harvest honey, beeswax, and propolis from the hive and use these ingredients in 38 recipes for home remedies, beauty treatments, and candle-making. Discover the wonder of bees in nature, in your garden, and in the hive with The Bee Book, lavishly bound in a beautiful gold-foil and texture cover and perfect for gift giving.
Beekeeper's Problem Solver by James E. TewWhile keeping bees certainly isn't rocket science, doing it properly does involve decent levels of understanding, commitment, and attention to detail. Getting the basics right is essential, and this demands a solid appreciation of important areas such as hives management, breed choice, and health requirements. There is plenty to think about for those getting their first bees, and careful planning is the key to a successful initial experience. One thing that complicates matters is the bees' ability to disguise problems. Although this might seem a useful ability, it actually makes recognizing trouble in the crucial, early stages that much more difficult, even for experienced owners. And although bees are remarkably resilient creatures, they remain vulnerable to predators, disease and climate changes. There is plenty of potential for things to go wrong and, unfortunately, it's always the bees that suffer when problems strike. Whether you're a newcomer or an old hand, The Beekeeper's Problem Solverprovides the information you need to nip probelms in the budâ??and, better still, avoid them in the first place. Let longtime bee keeper and apiary expert James E. Tew guide you thorugh 100 common problems faced by beekeepers, spelling out in clear and simple terms what the underlying cause is and how to solve it. Each one is tackled in depth, with photographs and diagrams, as well as a wide range of practical tips and useful insights. The problems are divided into ten chapters covering the main areas of beekeeping, from health to housing and parasites to predators. A subject-specific index is also included for easy reference.
Call Number: SF523 .T357 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Bees: A Natural History by Christopher O'TooleThe vital role of bees in human ecology is underlined by the estimate that every third mouthful of human food is dependent on the pollinating services of bees. Only recently have biologists discovered that human survival is inextricably linked to the survival of insects, specifically, bees. Today the 16-20,000 species of bee continue to play vital roles in human ecology. We survive only by grace of the life-sustaining network of bee-plant relationships. Bees immerses readers in the world of a group of insects whose diversity of form and behavior is eloquent testimony to the fine-tuning of natural selection. Written by a world-leading entomologist and specialist in bees, the book's topics include: What are bees? (The Wasp Inheritance) - Bees as foragers, their nesting instinct, on-board computing facility, sun-compass orientation and sense of time The many ways of being a bee -- Solitary versus social, Miners and masons, Leafcutters and carpenters Bees and flowering plants The male of the species -- Mating strategies, patrols, competition, territoriality, the role of scent The enemies of bees -- Cleptoparasites, cuckoo bees Bees and People -- historic and contemporary Bees in Folk and Modern Medicine The Conservation of Bees -- the decline of bees and honeybees, bees in human ecology, bee conservation, urban bees Bee projects -- the backyard bee scientist. Bees can be found throughout history in roles poetic and military, in medicine and agriculture, in the kitchen and in the kit of a traditional healer. They have played a bigger role in human existence than is often recognized. This beautifully illustrated, appreciative tribute will be welcomed by entomologists, students and all naturalist readers.
Call Number: QL568.A6 O858 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Bee Equipment Essentials by Ed SimonThis How-to-do-it approach to building bee equipment provides a clear plan to make your own bee equipment. Even if you never build bee equipment, this book will help you understand how to assemble and use many useful beekeeping tools. Build your own hive stands, bottom boards, entrance reducers, hive bodies, inner covers, telescoping covers and feeders. Build a variety of nucleus hives. Or build your own top bar hive. Build frames and bars for queen production, and make a Cloake Board. Make your own honey extractor and tools to help you process honey. Capture swarms with devices you build from inexpensive equipment. Build these items from materials you 'recycle' in a dumpster dive; enjoy building things you never dreamed you needed, like jigs, that hold equipment together during assembly. Build a solar wax extractor and harvest the wax found in wax scraps and old combs.
Call Number: SF532 .S556 2011
Publication Date: 2011
ABC and XYZ of Bee Culture 41st Edition by A.I. Root; Hachiro Shimanuki (Editor); Kim Flottum (Editor)The 41st Edition of The ABC & XYZ Of Bee Culture has over 900 pages and more than 1,000 photos. Most photos are color, but many are black and white because of the extensive array of historical topics, people and events that are covered...here and nowhere else. Constructed as an easy to use and comprehensive encyclopedia of honey bees, beekeeping and beekeeping practices and equipment, the alphabetical listings cover absolutely everything in the beekeeping world. From African Honey Bees, to beeswax, to comb honey, to G. M. Doolittle, to essential oils, to Karl von Frisch, to Extracted Honey, to more than 50 of the most popular honey plants to laying workers, to honey bee mites, to nucleus colonies, to Queen piping and Queen rearing, to the A. I. Root Company History, to smoking colonies, to Top Bar Hives, to Varroa, to wintering to worker cells. The 16 page Glossary is easy to use, and contains hundreds of entries to make learning the science, and art of beekeeping easier and faster than you can imagine. And nowhere anywhere is there a more comprehensive listing of the people and events that make up the history of keeping bees. Hundreds of individuals are highlighted, noting their contributions to the beekeeping community...from L. L. Langstroth to modern day queen And, because of the extensive role the A. I. Root Company played in American, and even global beekeeping development, a comprehensive overview of the family, the manufacturing advances, and the contributions made by the family, and the company, are spelled out in detail not before shared. More than 50 authors were pulled in to assist with this work, each contributing the most up-to-date information in their respective fields.
"Managing Alternative Pollinators: A Handbook for Beekeepers, Growers and Conservationists is a first-of-its-kind, step-by-step, full-color guide for rearing and managing bumble bees, mason bees, leafcutter bees and other bee species that provide pollination alternatives to the rapidly declining honey bee. Written by Eric Mader of the Xerces Society Pollinator Conservation Program; Professor of Entomology Marla Spivak; and Elaine Evans, author of “Befriending Bumble Bees,” the book includes expert information on the business and biology of pollination and how-to guidance on raising the alternative bee species.
This book comes to fill a void in beekeeping research worldwide since it addresses a series of issues of great contingency such as the problem and control of varroa, the management of the American foulbrood, management of hives to perform an adequate transhumance, and the way of handling Brazilian beekeeping.It is a text that is aimed at scientists, producers, undergraduate and graduate students, companies, and the general public who handle hives at a professional or amateur level that have from one to many hives.The book corresponds to the authors' experience of many years who with their contributions will improve the productive activity of beekeeping in the world concert.