It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Building a Medical Terminology Foundation is an OER that focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of introductory anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for health office administration and health services students in the first year of their college programs. read less
No matter what your field is, having professional communication skills are essential to success in today's workplace. This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.
This textbook was written for a community college introductory course in spreadsheets utilizing Microsoft Excel. While the figures shown utilize Excel 2016, the textbook was written to be applicable to other versions of Excel as well.
This open educational resource is designed to guide first-year college students in developing the vital communication skills that will help with the real, everyday tasks of writing and speaking in their chosen profession. Organized in three major units—Communication Fundamentals, Applied Writing, and Oral Communication—the textbook is conveniently presented in a variety of AODA-compliant formats and written in the reader-friendly style of a professional email between colleagues.
An introductory textbook in business that covers a variety of topics: The Foundation of Business, Economics and Business, Ethics and Social Responsibility, Business in a Global Environment, Forms of Business Ownership, Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business, Management and Leadership, Structuring Organizations, Operations Management, Motivating Employees, Management Human Resources, Union/Management Issues, Marketing: Providing Value, Accounting and Financial Information, and Personal Finances.
Administrative Assistant's and Secretary's Handbook by James Stroman; Kevin Wilson; Jennifer WausonFrom managing the phones, coordinating meetings, and preparing presentations to planning events, crafting clear business communications, and deciphering legal documents, administrative assistants need to be everything to everyone, all the time. Long the gold standard for office professionals seeking to improve their performance and enhance their value to employers, this comprehensive guidebook is the definitive source of information on topics including: Creating graphics, charts, and presentations; Microsoft Word, Excel, Outlook, and Publisher; Web conferencing ; Electronic and paper filing systems; Recordkeeping; Research skills; Travel arrangements; Meeting planning and management; Business math; Computer and software troubleshooting; and much more.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Customer Service Management Training 101 by Renee EvensonBecoming a great customer service manager requires a mastery of skills beyond those needed by frontline employees. Filled with the same accessible, step-by-step guidance as Customer Service Training 101, this user-friendly book shows readers how to develop the skills they need to communicate, lead, train, motivate, and manage those employees responsible for customer satisfaction. Designed for new managers and veterans alike, Customer Service Management Training 101 covers essential topics, including: Planning and goal setting * Time management * Team development * Conflict resolution * Providing feedback * Monitoring performance * Conducting meetings * Managing challenges * Listening * Verbal, nonverbal, and written communication. Readers will learn to identify their personal management style, develop core leadership qualities, and efficiently focus on their own development as managers. Packed with checklists, "real world" practice lessons, and examples of the right and wrong ways to do things, this is the one book every customer service manager needs to thrive.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Definitive Personal Assistant and Secretarial Handbook by Sue FranceWritten by a former Times Crème PA of the Year, this new edition of The Definitive Personal Assistant and Secretarial Handbook is the ultimate guide for all management assistants, PAs, secretaries and executive assistants. Administrative personnel in today's workplace hold an immense influence, not only on their bosses' performance, but also on the running of the whole organisation. This best-selling book is the only resource needed to excel in one's role as an assistant, outshine bosses' expectations and go up the ladder. Placing special emphasis on career development and learning, it provides help and advice on the skills necessary to progress in your career. Along with a chapter to share with your boss for a more fruitful working relationship, it includes help with time management, networking, relationship management, communication and confidence. Now with a new chapter on how to use neuroscience tools to coach yourself through your weaknesses and primed behavioural traits, it also contains even more practical help with minute taking, telephone and mobile communication etiquette and presentation skills. With free downloadable online resources to aid the day-to-day running of your office, this comprehensive and accessible guide will help you keep your finger on the pulse and maintain your professional image.
Call Number: Proquest eBook Central eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Excel 2016 Formulas by Walkenbach; Michael Alexander; Richard KusleikaLeverage the full power of Excel formulas Excel 2016 Formulas is fully updated to cover all of the tips, tricks, and techniques you need to maximize the power of Excel 2016 through the use of formulas. This comprehensive book explains how to create financial formulas, release the power of array formulas, develop custom worksheet functions with VBA, debug formulas, and much more. Whether you're a beginner, a power user, or somewhere in between this is your essential go-to for the latest on Excel formulas. When conducting simple math or building highly complicated spreadsheets that require formulas up to the task, leveraging the right formula can heighten the accuracy and efficiency of your work, and can improve the speed with which you compile and analyze data. Understanding which formulas to use and knowing how to create a formula when you need to are essential. Access tips, tricks, and techniques that have been fully updated to reflect the latest capabilities of Microsoft Excel Create and use formulas that have the power to transform your Excel experience Leverage supplemental material online, including sample files, templates, and worksheets from the book
Powerful Phrases for Effective Customer Service by Renee EvensonLet's face it, dealing with customers isn't easy. They aren't always right-or even pleasant-but knowing the right words to use can make all the difference. Powerful Phrases for Effective Customer Service shares over 700 phrases and scripts that have been proven time and again to defuse even the most difficult interactions. Covering 30 challenging customer behaviors and 20 tough employee-caused situations, this indispensible reference makes it easy for readers to assess thecircumstances, find the appropriate response, and confidently deliver satisfaction to every customer. In addition, readers will learn how to incorporate language into their daily routine that communicates welcome, courtesy, rapport, enthusiasm, assurance, regret, empathy, and appreciation. Every chapter includes helpful Do This! sample scenarios that bring the phrases to life as well as Why This Works sections that provide detailed explanations. Practical and insightful, Powerful Phrases for Effective Customer Service ensures that employees will never again be at a loss for words when dealing with customers.