Anti-Oppression + Anti-Racism Information: Anti-Asian Discrimination Resources

Awareness/Statistics: 

• Fight COVID-19 Racism: A Canadian site that tracks/maps incidents of anti-Asian racism, discrimination and harassment. The site provides the opportunity for those experiencing these acts to share their stories and also provides a number of resources from other organizations to support Asian communities.
• Stop AAPI Hate: A US based organization. Their site contains safety tips for bystanders to support those experiencing acts of racism.
• Chinese Canadian National Council –For Social Justice: A education and advocacy group for Chinese-Canadian communities in Canada. They have a “Stop the Spread of Racism” and #FaceRace campaigns that grew out of the COVID-19 pandemic. They’ve also released an infographic on COVID-19 anti-Asian racism In Canada.
• Project1907: An organization started by Asian women to provide space for understanding nuances of intersectional experiences, and building a collective and solidarity for those experiencing racism. They track reports of racism using community-based reporting, and have infographics on how to respond to anti-Asian racism, and trends in COVID-19 anti-Asian racism in Canada. There is also a visual created from their stats on types of anti-Asian hate crimes.
• ACT2End Racism: An organization formed in Canada through a coalition of Asian community groups, and individuals across Canada concerned about anti-Asian hate crimes. In multiple languages, they provide information on how to report and links to community resources. They also have a media watch for anti-Asian hate crime articles and provide education and resources for the community.
• Elimin8hate: Provides anonymous and safe reporting for Asian-Canadians experiencing racially motivated attacks and provides public resources for those impacted by anti-Asian racism across North America.
• Stats Canada: Experiences of discrimination during the COVID-19 pandemic: Provides an overview of crowdsourced data for experiences of discrimination during the pandemic. Also includes an overview of discrimination experiences by race and gender, to provide a snapshot of the increased severity of these instances.
• Ottawa Police: Hate Crimes–Notes that hate crimes towards East and Southeast Asian communities rose 600% from 2019 to 2020.
• CCDI recorded webinar from May 15, 2020: The intersection of race, mental health & stigma in the age of COVID-19: This webinar examines the compounding mental health and workplace impacts of COVID-19 towards diverse employees, with a focus on individuals of East-Asian and Indigenous backgrounds. The webinar includes opportunities, responsibilities and tipsthat employers and organizations can consider to reduce race-based micro-aggressions and mental health stigma targeted towards diverse employees, clients and stakeholders.

Support resources:

• Fight COVID-19 Racism: A Canadian site that tracks/maps incidents of anti-Asian racism, discrimination and harassment. The site provides the opportunity for those experiencing these acts to share their stories and also provides a number of resources from other organizations to support Asian communities.
• Cold Tea Collective: An online media platform focused on sharing stories and experiences of North American Asian millennials. Based out of Vancouver, BC, but with writers across North America. They have a post on Mental health support for the Asian-Canadian community, which includes a number of resources and links for Asian-Canadians, including those with mental health support services offered in different languages.
• Asian Mental Health Collective: A North American platform focused on supporting mental health within Asian communities. Their site includes an Asian-Canadian Therapist Directory for those looking for support.