Libraries Learning Commons: Winery + Viticulture Technician Sources: COMM1101

Topics

You will find resources on this page to help you get started with your research project.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions: jchamberspage@niagaracollege.ca

Happy Researching!

Choose your topic from the list below:

Blends

Online articles related to blended wines
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.
Helpful website: Grapes in Ontario (Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs
Packed with sources of general information on growing grapes in Ontario.

The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) (online & print)
The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV), published quarterly, is the official journal of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV). Current issues as well as a searchable database of articles going back to 1950 are available.
Oddbin's Dictionary of Wine by Simon Collin
Call Number: TP546 .O33 2004
ISBN: 0747566410
Publication Date: 2004
Use this as a starting point for background information.
The vintner's apprentice : the insider's guide to the art and craft of wine making, taught by the masters by Eric Miller
Call Number: TP548 .M6265 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Contains information on the process of blending.
Winemaking: From Grape Growing to Marketplace by Richard P. Vine (Editor); Ellen M. Harkness (Editor); Sally J. Linton (Editor)
Call Number: TP548 .V4844 2002
ISBN: 0306472724
Publication Date: 2002
Details on the process of blending.
Wine Science by Ronald S. Jackson
Call Number: TP548 .J15 2000
ISBN: 012379062X
Publication Date: 2000
Presents a balance between the objective science of wine chemistry and the subjective study of wine appreciation

Branding

Online articles related to branding
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.
Helpful website: Grape Growers of Ontario
Resources on the philosophies behind Ontario grapes.
Helpful website: VQA Ontario
Info about VQA branding practices.
International Journal of Wine Business Research
This is a recommended journal for your topic. You will need to use your Blackboard username and password to log in.

Wine Brands: Success Strategies for New Markets, New Consumers and New Trends by Evelyne Resnick
Call Number: HD9370.5 .R47 2008
ISBN: 9780230554030
Publication Date: 2008
Case studies and examples of successful wine branding.
Wine Marketing and Sales: Success Strategies for a Saturated Market by Liz Thach; Janeen Olsen; Paul Wagner
Call Number: HD9375 .W43 2006
ISBN: 9781934259450
Publication Date: 2009
This is more of a general source on wine marketing with a section on branding.
Wine Marketing: A Practical Guide by Richard Mitchell; C. Michael Hall; Colin Michael Hall
Call Number: HD 9370.5 .H34 2008
ISBN: 9780750654203
Publication Date: 2008
Several case studies that discuss branding strategies.
Successful Wine Marketing by James Lapsley; Kirby Moulton
Call Number: HD9370.5 .S83 2006
ISBN: 9780834219625
Publication Date: 2006
Includes significant sections about branding.

Eco Wines

Online articles related to eco wines
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.

Authentic Wine: Toward Natural and Sustainable Winemaking by Jamie Goode; Sam Harrop
Call Number: TP548 .G6259 2011 (also available as eBook)
ISBN: 9780520275751
Publication Date: 2013
An informative and accessible book on the topic of natural and sustainable winemaking.
Biodynamic Wine Demystified by Nicolas Joly; Joshua Greene (Foreword by); Mike Benziger (Foreword by)
Call Number: SB388.J65 2008
ISBN: 9781934259023
Publication Date: 2008
"Esteemed winemaker and biodynamic pioneer Nicholas Joly believes a wine that is well-made in the vineyard must express its unique terroir--the character imbued by a vine's particular plot of well-tended earth. In Biodynamic Wine, Demystified, Joly shares the core philosophy behind biodynamic viticulture and why such practices result in wines of regional distinction."--from publisher
Naked Wine by Alice Feiring
Call Number: TP548.6.O74 F45 2011
ISBN: 9780306819537
Publication Date: 2011
Details one woman's attempt at natural winemaking.
Wine from Sky to Earth: Growing & Appreciating Biodynamic Wine by Nicholas Joly
Call Number: SB388 .J6513 2005
ISBN: 9780911311600
Publication Date: 2005
Examination of the philosophy and practice of biodynamic winemaking.

Equipment

Online articles related to winemaking equipment technology
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.

This topic requires current information, so make sure to use the date limiter when searching databases. In this case, books will not have the most up-to-date information. As an alternative, try looking through some of the print trade journals available from the library to find out the latest trends. Here are some of your best options:

The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) (online & print)
The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV), published quarterly, is the official journal of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV). Current issues as well as a searchable database of articles going back to 1950 are available.
Australian & New Zealand Grapegrower & Winemaker (print only)
One of Australia's leading wine industry journals, provides practical insight and the latest news, research, and business strategies.
Canadian Grapes to Wine (print only)
All the wine-making and grape-growing news from across Canada.
Vines
Offers Canadian consumer advice on wine and food. Includes recipes and reviews.
Wine and Viticulture Journal
Australian publication that covers
aspects of winemaking and technology, viticulture, wine business and marketing.
Wine Business Monthly
Keep informed with the latest wine industry innovations with this trade journal.

The Global Wine Industry

Online articles related to the global wine industry
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.
Global Wine Industry Profile by Marketline
You will need to use your Blackboard username and password to log in.

Wine: A Global Business by Liz Thach; Tim Matz
Call Number: HD9370.5.W555 2008
ISBN: 9780971587038
Publication Date: 2008
Discusses all aspects of the global wine industry. A good background source but more current information is available through Library databases.

Local Wineries

Canadian Vintner's Association
The Canadian Vintners Association (CVA) represents member wineries responsible for more than 90% of Canada’s wine production (from canadianvinterners.com)
VQA Ontario
official site of Ontario's wine authority.
Wines of Ontario
List and contact information for Ontario wineries
Helpful website: Grape Growers of Ontario
Official organization of Ontario grape growers.
Liquor Control Board of Ontario (LCBO)
In its capacity as Ontario's wine authority, VQA Ontario exercises delegated authority to administer and enforce the VQA Act and its associated regulations (from lcbo.com)

Anatomy of a winery : the art of wine at Inniskillin by Donald J. P Ziraldo
Call Number: TP559.C2 Z57 1995
ISBN: 1550136461
Publication Date: 1995
An inside look at Inniskillin winery.
Crush on Niagara : the definitive wine tour guide for Niagara, Lake Erie North Shore, Pelee Island and Prince Edward County by Andrew Brooks
Call Number: TP559.C3 B76 2009
ISBN: 1552859800
Publication Date: 2009
A tour guide to Niagara region wineries.
Icewine : extreme winemaking by Donald Ziraldo and Karl Kaiser
Call Number: TP559.C2 Z585 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Explores the Niagara Region's unique connection to making icewine, specifically at Inniskillin Winery.
Niagara's Wine Visionaries by Linda Bramble
Call Number: TP559.C3 B74 2009
ISBN: 9781552774298
Publication Date: 2009
The stories of some of Niagara's legendary winemakers and wineries.
The Story of Hillebrand Estates Winery by Peter Mielzynski-Zychlinski
Call Number: HD9384.C34 H54 2001
ISBN: 1552633152
Publication Date: 2002
The story of Hillebrand Estates Winery from one of its founders.
Touring Niagara Wine Country by Linda Bramble
Call Number: FC3095.N5 B68 2003
ISBN: 1550287958
Publication Date: 2003
A look at some of Niagara's most beautiful wineries.

Social Media Marketing & Customer Service

Online articles related to social media marketing and customer service in general
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.
Online articles related to social media marketing and customer service in the wine industry
Search results from ncLibraries' databases similar to those above, but with a specific focus on the wine industry.

Ask Gary Vee: one entrepreneur's take on leadership, social media, & self-awareness by Gary Vaynerchuk
Call Number: HF5415 .V323 2016
ISBN: 0062273124
Publication Date: 2016
Epic Content Marketing:how to tell a different story, break through the clutter, and win more customers by marketing less by Joe Pulizzi
Call Number: HF5415 .P756 2014
ISBN: 0071819894
Publication Date: 2013
"One of the world's leading experts on content marketing, Joe Pulizzi explains how to attract prospects and customers by creating information and content they actually want to engage with."--from publisher
The New Rules of Marketing and PR: how to use social media, online video, mobile applications, blogs, news releases, and viral marketing to reach buyers directly by David Meerman Scott
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .S393 2013
ISBN: 1118488768
Publication Date: 2013
"The benchmark guide to marketing and PR, updated with the latest social media and marketing trends, tools, and real-world examples of success."--from publisher

Training and Trellising

Online articles related to training/trellising grapevines
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.

The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) (online & print)
Recommended journal for your topic: The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV), published quarterly, is the official journal of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV). Current issues as well as a searchable database of articles going back to 1950 are available.
The grape grower: A guide to organic viticulture by Lon Rombough; Roger B. Swain (Foreword by)
Call Number: SB389 .R76 2002
ISBN: 9781890132828
Publication Date: 2002
Contains extensive sections on training and trellising.
Pruning and training by David Jackson
Call Number: SB388 .J237 2001
ISBN: 0909049033
Publication Date: 2001
Details how to train grapevines in cooler climates.
Sunlight into wine : a handbook for winegrape canopy management by Richard Smart
Call Number: SB388 .S63 1991
ISBN: 1875130101
Publication Date: 1991
Contains details on constructing trellis systems.
Vineyard establishment. Vineyard establishment. II, Planting and early care of vineyards by Thomas J. Zabadal
Call Number: SB388 .Z33 2004 pt. 2
Publication Date: 2004
Contains information on how to properly trellis/stake new vineyards.
Viticulture volume 2: Practices by B.G. Coombe and P.R. Dry
Call Number: SB398.A8 V62 1992 v.2
ISBN: 9781875130016
Publication Date: 1992
An older book, but with great information about training and trellising.

Varietal Considerations

Online articles related to varietal considerations/terroir
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.
Helpful website: Grapes in Ontario (Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs
Packed with sources of general information on growing grapes in Ontario.
Helpful website: VQA Ontario
Lots of info about growing considerations for varieties commonly found in Ontario.

The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) (online & print)
The American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV), published quarterly, is the official journal of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV). Current issues as well as a searchable database of articles going back to 1950 are available.
Authentic Wine: Toward Natural and Sustainable Winemaking by Jamie Goode; Sam Harrop
Call Number: TP548 .G6259 2011 (also available as eBook)
ISBN: 9780520275751
Publication Date: 2013
An informative and accessible book on the topic of natural and sustainable winemaking.
Terroir : terroir (tair-wahr) a French term meaning total elements of the vineyard by James E. Wilson
Call Number: TP553 .W552 1999
Publication Date: 1999
An in-depth look at all of the elements of terroir in winemaking.
Wine, terroir and climate change by J.S. Gladstones
Call Number: SB388 .G53 2011
ISBN: 1862549249
Publication Date: 2011
Investigates the impact of climate control on varietal considerations.
Wine Grapes: a complete guide to 1,368 vine varieties, including their origins and flavours by Jancis Robinson; Julia Harding; José Vouillamoz
Call Number: SB388 .R593 2012
ISBN: 9780062206367
Publication Date: 2012
An extensive look at the characteristics, growing considerations, and relationships between hundreds of grape varieties.

Vineyard Nuisances

Online articles related to vineyard pests
Search results from ncLibraries' databases. You can manipulate the search terms to meet your specific needs better if none of the results appeal to you.
Helpful website: Grapes in Ontario (Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs
Packed with sources of information on pest management for growing grapes in Ontario.
Ontario Grape IPM
Online publication from the Ministry of Agriculture, Food, & Rural Affairs on integrated pest management for grape growing in Ontario.

Pesticide application in vineyards by John Kent
Call Number: SB952.87.A8 K46 2003
ISBN: 1864670045
Publication Date: 2003
Outlines vineyard pesticide practices in Australia.
Compendium of grape diseases
Call Number: SB608.G7 C385 1988
Publication Date: 1988
An older book, but still full of great info.
Stem application of plant protective agents in viticulture by Andreas Düker
Call Number: SB608.G7 D7613 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Describes an approach to vineyard pest control.
The Australian and New Zealand field guide to diseases, pests and disorders of grapes
Call Number: SB608.G7 A86 2000
ISBN: 1875130330
Publication Date: 2000
Contains details about common vineyard pests, especially in Australia.
Pests: a guide to the world's most maligned, yet misunderstood creatures by Ross Piper
Call Number: SB601 .P49 2011
ISBN: 0313384266
Publication Date: 2011
"This single volume describes the animals that are most injurious and costly to humans, examining the important roles of these pests throughout history and the implications of the never-ending wars we wage against the natural world."--from publisher.
Integrated Pest Management by Edward B. Radcliffe (Editor); William D. Hutchison (Editor); Rafael E. Cancelado (Editor)
Call Number: SB950.I4572 2009
ISBN: 0521699312
Publication Date: 2009
"Integrated Pest Management (IPM) is an effective and environmentally sensitive approach to pest management. It uses natural predators, pest-resistant plants, and other methods to preserve a healthy environment in an effort to decrease reliance on harmful pesticides."--from publisher

Search Everything

Questions?

Your Library Contact

Geoff Brown

Email Me