Open Educational Resources (OER)

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Index of open access eBooks on culinary topics.

Free and open collection of peer-reviewed online learning materials for higher education.

Culinary arts, in which ‘culinary’ means "related to cooking", are the ‘arts’ of preparation, cooking, and presentation of food, usually in the form of meals. People working in this field – especially in establishments such as restaurants – are called "chefs" or "cooks", although, at its most general, the terms "culinary artist" and "culinarian" are also used. Table manners as an exemplar, ("the table arts") are sometimes referred to as a culinary art.
Expert chefs are required to have knowledge of food science, nutrition, and diet and are
responsible for preparing meals that are as pleasing to the eye as they are to the palate.

The Garde Manger course is an introduction to the art and craft of the cold kitchen. It is rooted in preservation methods and techniques dating back to the days when the Garde Manger or 'keeper of the food' had no refrigeration and needed to preserve food for its wholesomeness. Techniques such as aspics and terrines are making a resurgence in the modern kitchen and a good foundation is important for you to be able to create your own niche as a modern chef. First, learn the old then redefine the new."

This introductory text on baking and pastries cover the following topics: baking and pastry equipment; dry ingredients; quick breads; yeast doughs; pastry doughs; custards; cake and buttercreams; pie doughs and ice cream; mousses, Bavarians, and souffle; and cookies. The appendix includes measurement and conversion charts, cake terms, and industry resources.

The Meat Identification and Fabrication course is an introductory class that offers you the opportunity to learn how nature made the domesticated and wild animals for us to harvest, fabricate, and prepare for table service. Along the way, we will explore their physiology and muscle composition as we learn how to divide them into primal, sub primal and usable cuts. The goal is not to become a professional butcher after this class but rather to gain a working knowledge about the proteins we use in our profession and to learn how to make sub primals ready for guest service and the proper cooking methods for particular cuts.

With a fundamental knowledge of the variety of sauce making methods available, the chef can make his or her own decisions based on the needs of the clientele, the budget, and style of the restaurant. It is important for a chef to know how liquids, flavorings, and thickeners work and to explain traditional approaches and combinations that will provide the chef with technical guidelines and underlying aesthetic principles.

This text was written by Chef Marcelle Bienvenu for CULA 221, a core class at the Chef John Folse Culinary Institute at Nicholls State University. It covers the following topics: flavors; eggs and breakfast; vegetables; potatoes; grains; pasta; vegetarianism; oils, vinegars, and salads; and fruit.

This book moves the reader through eleven chapters, which provide a logical path from developing the concept to success operation of a new restaurant. Part one: evaluating the marketplace comprises chapter one through six concerning the city, who lives there, what competitive forces exist, the market segments that would enjoy a particular concept, and how one positions themselves in a marketplace.Part 2: From Concept to Marketplace comprises chapters seven through eleven. Once the marketplace itself, potential consumers, and competitive force evaluations occur, the operation focuses on defining market segments and positioning strategy, and developing a marketing plan that speaks to customers who best fit their business model.

This material supports a special topics course on crisis management addressing operational reality the hospitality industry confronts because of the coronavirus pandemic and other crises. This course integrates risk management and crisis phase literature into the analysis of a hospitality operation to increase its chances for survival. It covers the analysis, clear communication, and focused decision making to proceed to the crisis resolution stage.

Culinary arts, in which ‘culinary’ means "related to cooking", are the ‘arts’ of preparation, cooking, and presentation of food, usually in the form of meals. People working in this field – especially in establishments such as restaurants – are called "chefs" or "cooks", although, at its most general, the terms "culinary artist" and "culinarian" are also used. Table manners as an exemplar, ("the table arts") are sometimes referred to as a culinary art. Expert chefs are required to have knowledge of food science, nutrition, and diet and are responsible for preparing meals that are as pleasing to the eye as they are to the palate. This text was written by Chef Randy Cheramie for CULA 111: Culinary Foundations at the Chef John Folse Culinary Institute at Nicholls State University.

Although created with the Professional Cook, Baker and Meatcutter programs in mind, Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management is one of a series of Culinary Arts open textbooks developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia’s foodservice and hospitality industry.

Food Safety, Sanitation, and Personal Hygiene is one of a series of Culinary Arts open textbooks developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia's foodservice and hospitality industry. Although created with the Professional Cook, Baker and Meatcutter programs in mind, these have been designed as a modular series, and therefore can be used to support a wide variety of programs that offer training in foodservice skills. Other books in the series include: Workplace Safety Employability Skills Kitchen Management Meat Cutting and Processing Human Resource Management Baking Ingredients, Nutrition and Labelling Pastry and Plated Dessert Techniques The series has been developed collaboratively with participation from public and private post-secondary institutions.

Culinary Arts open textbooks developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia's foodservice and hospitality industry. Although created with the Professional Cook, Baker and Meatcutter programs in mind, these have been designed as a modular series, and therefore can be used to support a wide variety of programs that offer training in foodservice skills.

Basic Kitchen and Food Service Management is one of a series of Culinary Arts open textbooks developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia's foodservice and hospitality industry.

Modern Pastry and Plated Dessert Techniques is one of a series of Culinary Arts books developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia's food service and hospitality industry.

This book is intended to give students a basic understanding of the various types and uses of ingredients used in the baking industry, and how certain ingredients, in particular grains and flours are produced, graded and processed in Canada. Understanding Ingredients for the Canadian Baker is one of a series of Culinary Arts books developed to support the training of students and apprentices in British Columbia’s food service and hospitality industry.

The Essential Skills Companion Kit to Culinary Arts Trades Training was developed to complement technical Culinary Arts Trades Training. The various activity sets are designed to reinforce academic information that students are required to know during their training. The Content Experts provided the Curriculum Development Team with themes and the curriculum was created to practice Essential Skills such as Reading Text, Document Use, Thinking Skills, Oral Communication and Working with Others.

Food safety is a complex issue that has an impact on all segments of society, from the general public to government, industry, and academia. The second edition of the Bad Bug Book, published by the Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides current information about the major known agents that cause foodborne illness. The information provided in this handbook is abbreviated and general in nature, and is intended for practical use. It is not intended to be a comprehensive scientific or clinical reference.

This text was written by Chef Marcelle Bienvenu for CULA 221, a core class at the Chef John Folse Culinary Institute at Nicholls State University. It covers the following topics: flavors; eggs and breakfast; vegetables; potatoes; grains; pasta; vegetarianism; oils, vinegars, and salads; and fruit.

This introductory text on baking and pastries cover the following topics: baking and pastry equipment; dry ingredients; quick breads; yeast doughs; pastry doughs; custards; cake and buttercreams; pie doughs and ice cream; mousses, Bavarians, and souffle; and cookies. The appendix includes measurement and conversion charts, cake terms, and industry resources.
This resource was written by Chef Tammy Rink for Nicholls State University CULA 250 course.

This is a knife skills lab used with Culinary 1 students.

These modules are grounded in The Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario’s (HEQCO) A Practical Guide for Work Integrated Learning and represent over 35 hours of rich content that can be used by faculty, career-services staff, and employers to support student learning in applied and work-integrated settings. The modules, licensed under the Creative Commons (CC BY NC 4.0), may be packaged together to create an online course, substantial units of a course, or to supplement WIL experiences within other courses.