Open Educational Resources (OER)

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).

Index to collections of open access eBooks on the arts.

Free and open collection of peer-reviewed online learning materials for higher education.

One web page for every book ever published. It's a lofty but achievable goal. To build Open Library, we need hundreds of millions of book records, a wiki interface, and lots of people who are willing to contribute their time and effort to building the site. This source is particularly strong in humanities subjects.

Modules filtered by topic "Arts."

NFB Study guides are designed to facilitate the integration of NFB films into the classroom.

This text provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices.

This book provides an overview of time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics.

Digital Foundations uses formal exercises of the Bauhaus to teach the Adobe Creative Suite. All students of digital design and production—whether learning in a classroom or on their own—need to understand the basic principles of design in order to implement them using current software.

This text contains eight chapters of the major areas of film construction and production. The discussion covers theme, genre, narrative structure, character portrayal, story, plot, directing style, cinematography, and editing.

This introductory book covers narration, film history, mise-on-scène, cinematography, editing, sound, genre and writing film analysis.

The following recipes, or games, are intended to be used as reference and study for the college course: Improvisation.

A free and open-source introduction to the art and science of moving pictures, offering in-depth exploration of how cinema communicates, and what, exactly, it is trying to say.

An Introduction to Technical Theatre.

If you’re interested in learning about the growing universe of podcasting, how it works and finding tools and inspiration to create your own podcast, this online resource is for you. The focus is on audio podcasting and this practical guide will help you navigate the technology and best practices.

The author believes that an introduction to mass communication text should be a compelling, historical narrative sketching the *ongoing evolution* of media technology and how that technology shapes and is shaped by culture.

Good writing skills are important in today’s competitive work environment. This is especially the case for communication-related professions such as public relations, brand communication, journalism, and marketing.

Lesson plans, presentations, slides, photographs, and more.

Activities, labs, simulations, lesson plans, lectures, and more

SkillsCommons’ mission is to accelerate the democratization of education for all through open educational services and resources enabling individuals, communities, educational institutions, organizations, and businesses to prepare people for successful employment in the 21st Century.

From programming to game design, here are 21 essential resources to take your game development to the next level.

This OER showcases the use of tools such as twitter, blogs, and other forms of social media, as a project for increasing cultural awareness in the classroom. These tools create spaces in the classroom for culturally responsive engagement between Indigenous and non-Indigenous students.

Creating Video Games is a class that introduces students to the complexities of working in small, multidisciplinary teams to develop video games. Students will learn creative design and production methods, working together in small teams to design, develop, and thoroughly test their own original digital games.

These modules are grounded in The Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario’s (HEQCO) A Practical Guide for Work Integrated Learning and represent over 35 hours of rich content that can be used by faculty, career-services staff, and employers to support student learning in applied and work-integrated settings. The modules, licensed under the Creative Commons (CC BY NC 4.0), may be packaged together to create an online course, substantial units of a course, or to supplement WIL experiences within other courses.

This set of modules will be useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication or business writing.